Au Pair Activities
Interview with an au pair
Meet Our Host Families!
Global Awareness
Starting College
A Recipe For Success
Au Pair Experiences
Kids' Games
Travel Stories
Apply Now

Meet Our Host Families!



Hello!  I live with my husband, 13-year old daughter and our 8 and a half-year-old son.  My husband and I both graduated from the University of Illinois.  I work as an animal veterinarian in two suburban animal hospitals (sister facilities).  My husband is involved with a large Architectural and Engineering firm in downtown Chicago.  My husband’s parents and my father live relatively close by and we enjoy family get-togethers frequently.


We’re looking for a special someone to invite into our home as a friend and equal, who we can depend on and trust to care for our daughter and our son as if they were a little sister and brother, and we would offer the au pair a special and important place in our hearts and our home.  The cross – cultural exchange of having an au pair join our family would be an added benefit to all of us.  We've enjoyed and welcomed au pairs from nine different countries over the last 12 years.  The experiences, adventures, and challenges we have had keep us coming back to Au Pair in America for more.


Our home is in West Chicago, a peaceful far west suburb of Chicago, Illinois.  A fifty minute commute, by train or car gets you to downtown Chicago with all its museums, theatres, beaches and shops at your fingertips.  Our house is a five bedroom split-level medium size home with a big yard where we enjoy badminton, croquet, volleyball, basketball, frisbee, jumping on our trampoline, swimming in our pool and playing ball.  The children love playing on their swing/gym set and in our yard.  We love bicycle rides and walks on a long scenic trail near our home.  There a few shopping malls in the area and a large community college.  We’re also really close to the train station and downtown West Chicago.


Our son is a happy healthy boy.  He likes to swim, ride his bicycle and play with his planes, trains and automobiles.  He play soccer on a team and takes karate classes.  He tries to do anything his big sister does and loves to play with other children.  Our daughter loves to dance, listen to music, play volleyball, go shopping to the mall and loves swimming in our pool.  She also enjoys getting together with her friends.


We look forward to meeting you!

Click here to read more family stories